Prices for telephony services

Pricing 2011-2021

According to the National Consumer Price Index issued by the Federal Statistical Office (FSO), which measures price trends on the basis of a basket of the principal consumer goods and services purchased by Swiss households, the overall index for telecommunications services declined by 0.5 percentage points between 2020 and 2021. The index for mobile telephone communications remained virtually unchanged last year (+0.1 percentage points).

The mobile telephony prices covered by OFCOM's Statistical Observatory, which are based on the lowest rates offered by providers on the Swiss market, reveal considerable differences, however.

As last year, in all baskets the most expensive deal (Swisscom) cost 2 to 2.5 times the most affordable, which was UPC in the small and medium-sized basket and Yallo in the large basket.

In 2021, the most competitive deal for low-use customers was available from UPC at less than CHF 10 per month. At Swisscom, it was CHF 25. For medium-use customers, the UPC deal cost less than CHF 20, but the Swisscom one was CHF 50. Finally, high-use customers found the cheapest offer at Yallo for around CHF 25.60 and the most expensive at Swisscom for CHF 50.60. The latter price dropped by a considerable CHF 15.50 from 2020 to 2021.


OECD Pricing 2021
Source: Results from Teligen/OECD Mobile Voice and Data Price Benchmarking system. Copyright Strategy Analytics, UK

Mobile telephony prices in Switzerland are still among the highest internationally for the medium-sized basket. This is confirmed by the Teligen price baskets published by the market research company Strategy Analytics, which are based on OECD methodology and take into account the most competitive products offered by the largest carriers in each country. They are below the OECD average for the small and large baskets, but more detail is needed to understand this finding fully.

The price basket for Switzerland factors in the three network operators Salt, Sunrise and Swisscom, as well as the secondary and tertiary brands UPC, Yallo and M-Budget. These include products and options from both the prepaid and contract segments. For a medium-use basket of voice and data connections (100 calls and 2 GB of data), a customer in Switzerland paid almost CHF 4 per month more than the OECD-wide average in August 2021 (CHF 19.90 vs. CHF 16.20). In terms of the cheapest offer Switzerland comes in 23rd and thus in the third containing the most expensive countries.

By contrast, customers who have comparatively little need of mobile services (30 calls and 500 Mbps data) paid CHF 2.50 less per month in Switzerland than the OECD average (CHF 9.90 vs. CHF 12.40). Even with its cheapest offer Switzerland is still in 15th place.

Customers with high usage requirements (unlimited calls and 20 GB of data) paid almost CHF 8 less per month in Switzerland than the OECD average (CHF 25.60 vs. CHF 33.20). Switzerland still ranks 14th, however, and ten or so countries offer comparable products for less than CHF 20 per month.

Last modification 20.05.2022

Top of page

https://www.comcom.admin.ch/content/comcom/en/home/dokumentation/zahlen-und-fakten/mobilfunkmarkt/mobilfunkpreise.html

Prix des services mobiles

Prix 2011-2021

Selon l’indice des prix à la consommation de l’Office fédéral de la statistique (OFS), qui mesure l’évolution des prix sur la base de paniers de produits et services de consommation les plus importants des ménages en Suisse, l’indice global des services de télécommunications a diminué de 0,5 % entre 2020 et 2021. L’indice des communications sur réseau mobile est quant à lui resté stable (+ 0,1%) l’année dernière.

Le suivi des prix des communications mobiles effectué par l’Observatoire statistique de l’OFCOM et basés sur les offres les plus économiques proposées sur le marché suisse par les fournisseurs de services de communication mobile, montre par ailleurs de fortes disparités.

Quel que soit le panier de consommation considéré, on observe comme l’année dernière déjà un rapport de 2 à 2,5 entre l’offre la plus avantageuse de UPC (petit panier et moyen de consommation) ou Yallo (grand panier de consommation) et la plus chère de Swisscom.

En 2021, pour un petit consommateur, l’offre la plus avantageuse de UPC à moins de 10 francs et celle de Swisscom à 25 francs. Pour un consommateur moyen, l’offre de UPC est à moins de 20 francs quand celle de Swisscom est à 50 francs. Enfin, pour un grand consommateur, l’offre la moins chère se situe autour de 25,60 francs chez Yallo et la plus chère à 50,60 francs chez Swisscom, avec cependant une baisse sensible de 15,50 francs entre 2020 et 2021.


OECD Prix 2021
Source : Results from Teligen/OECD Mobile Voice and Data Price Benchmarking system. Copyright Strategy Analytics, UK

En comparaison internationale, les prix des communications mobiles en Suisse demeurent encore parmi les plus élevés pour un panier moyen, ce que confirment les paniers de prix Teligen, publiés par Strategy Analytics et basés sur les méthodes de l’OCDE prenant en compte les produits les moins chers commercialisés par les plus grands opérateurs de chaque pays. Et s’ils sont inférieurs à la moyenne des pays de l’OCDE pour les petits et grands paniers de consommation, il convient de nuancer ce résultat.

Pour la Suisse, les trois opérateurs de réseaux Salt, Sunrise et Swisscom ainsi que les marques secondaires et tierces UPC, Yallo et M-Budget ont été pris en compte pour l’établissement de ces paniers. Les produits et options considérés concernent à la fois les offres prépayées et les abonnements. Pour un panier moyen comprenant voix et données, un usager moyen en Suisse (100 appels et 2 Go de données) payait près de 4 francs de plus par mois que la moyenne des pays de l’OCDE en août 2021 (19,90 francs contre 16,20 francs). Avec son offre la plus avantageuse, la Suisse se trouve au 23e rang du classement, ce qui la place dans le tiers des pays les plus chers.

Par contre, concernant le prix que payait un petit usager (30 appels et 500 Mbit/s de données), le consommateur suisse payait 2,50 francs de moins que dans la moyenne des pays de l’OCDE (9,90 francs contre 12,40 francs) ; avec son offre la moins chère, la Suisse occupe toujours le 15e rang du classement.

Enfin, pour un gros panier de consommation (appels illimités et 20 Go de données), le consommateur suisse payait près de 8 francs de moins par mois que la moyenne des pays de l’OCDE (25,60 francs contre 33,20 francs). La Suisse occupe encore la 14e place du classement et près d’une dizaine de pays proposent le même type de produit à moins de 20 francs.

Dernière modification 04.05.2022

Début de la page

https://www.comcom.admin.ch/content/comcom/fr/home/dokumentation/zahlen-und-fakten/mobilfunkmarkt/mobilfunkpreise.html