Task of the commission

The Federal Communications Commission (ComCom) is the independent regulatory authority for the telecommunications market. Established by the Law on Telecommunications (TCA) of 30 April 1997, it consists of 7 members - who must be independent specialists - nominated by the Federal Council. However, it is not subject to any Federal Council or Department directives. The Commission is independent of the administrative authorities and has its own secretariat. It informs the public of its activities and produces a report each year for the attention of the Federal Council.
As provided for in law, the Commission instructs the Federal Office of Communications (OFCOM) to prepare its business and implement its decisions. The Commission has moreover delegated some of its tasks to OFCOM.

Main activities and competencies of the commission

  • Granting licences for the use of radiocommunication frequencies (art. 22a TCA)
  • Award of universal service licences (art. 14 TCA)
  • Laying down the access conditions (unbundling, interconnection, leased lines, etc.) when service providers fail to reach an agreement (art. 11a TCA)
  • Setting the access conditions to the building entry point and joint use of installations within buildings in case of dispute between service providers (art. 35b TCA)
  • Decisions about supervisory measures (art. 58 TCA) and administrative sanctions (art. 60 TCA)