The Commission

The Federal Communications Commission (ComCom) has been active since 1998 as the licensing authority and market regulator in the telecommunications sector.
According to the Law on Telecommunications (LTC) of 30 April 1997, it consists of 7 members - who must be independent specialists - nominated by the Swiss Government (Federal Council).

As an independent authority, the Commission is not subject to any directives of the Federal Council or Department in its decisions.
As provided for in law, the Commission instructs the Federal Office of Communications (OFCOM) to prepare its business and implement its decisions. The Commission has moreover delegated some of its tasks to OFCOM.

Schema : Organisation of the authorities in the telecommunications sector

DETEC = Department of the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications
OFCOM = Federal Office of Communications


The Secretariat

The ComCom has its own Secretariat, which is responsible for co-ordinating affairs, organising the work of the Commission and providing the public with information.

The Secretariat comprises the secretary general of the Commission, a scientific officer and Webmaster, and an administrative assistant.